EA Ireland


The Electricity Association of Ireland (EAI) is the representative body for the electricity industry and gas retail sector operating within the Single Energy Market (SEM) on the Island of Ireland.

Our membership comprises utilities that represent 90% of generation and retail business activities and 100% of distribution within the market. Our members range in size from single plant operators and independent suppliers to international power utilities.

Electricity has a fundamental role in providing energy services in a decarbonised future, in particular through the progressive electrification of transport and heating. We believe that this can be achieved, in the overall interest of society, through competitive markets that support customer preference and sustainable investment. We promote this vision through constructive engagement with key policy, regulatory, technology and academic stakeholders both at domestic and EU levels. 


Click here to read the EAI Brochure.

EAI represents the Irish electricity industry in Eurelectric and helps shape the broader European response to developing policy and legislative initiatives.

Eurelectric is the sector association which represents the common interests of the electricity industry at pan-European level, plus its affiliates and associates on several other continents. It currently has over 34 full members, representing the electricity industry in 32 European countries. The EAI is represented on all the  Committees and Working groups of Eurelectric.


Eurelectric Wholesale Markets and Investments CommitteePositionNameOrganisation
CommitteeMemberStephen DouglasEAI
CommitteeSubstituteStacy FeldmannSSE
CommitteeSubstituteDerek RussellEnergia
WG Market Integration & Network CodesMemberParaic HigginsESB
WG Market Integration & Network CodesSubstituteKevin HannafinEnergia
WG Market Integration & Network CodesSubstituteJulie Anne HannonBGE
WG Wholesale Market Design and Investment FrameworksMemberStacy FeldmannSSE
WG Wholesale Market Design and Investment FrameworksSubstituteKevin HannafinEnergia
TF Financial Regulation & Market IntegrityMemberJulia Ruiz-VanoElectroroute
TF Financial Regulation & Market IntegritySubstituteParaic HigginsESB
WG Power and Gas MemberBrian LarkinElectroroute
WG Power and GasSubstituteIan MullinsBGE
Eurelectric Generation & Environment CommitteePositionNameOrganisation
CommitteeMemberDonal PhelanESB
CommitteeSubstituteJohn YoungSSE
WG Climate Change & DecarbonisationMemberDéaglán O’DonaillESB
WG Climate Change & DecarbonisationSubstituteGillian KinsellaBGE
WG RES & StorageMemberDavid MacartneyEnergia
WG HydroMemberAine O'GradyESB
WG Thermal & NuclearMemberPeter DavisESB
WG Thermal & NuclearSubstituteBrendan ConnollyBnM
WG Environmental ProtectionMemberDuncan ClarkeESB
Eurelectric Distribution & Market Facilitation CommitteePositionNameOrganisation
CommitteeMemberDonal CreanESBN
WG Institutional FrameworksMemberClare DuffyESBN
WG TechnologyMemberAnthony WalshESBN
WG Regulation and Network CustomersVice Chair of WGGrainne O'SheaESBN
WG Regulation and Network CustomersMemberTony HearneESBN
TF Grid Connection Codes and System Operation CodesMemberTony HearneESBN
Eurelectric Electrification & Sustainability CommitteePositionNameOrganisation
CommitteeMemberClive BowersESB
CommitteeSubstituteDerek ScullyEnergia
WG Electrification & Energy EfficiencyMemberGillian KinsellaBGE
WG Electrification & Energy EfficiencySubstituteKaren O'ReillySSE
WG E-MobilityMemberConor O’BrienESB
WG E-MobilitySubstituteCiara MoaneEnergia
WG Innovation & DigitalMemberColm de BurcaESB
WG Innovation & DigitalSubstituteCathal LallyESB
WG Social SustainabilityMemberCormac MaddenESB
WG Social SustainabilitySubstitutePat FitzgeraldBnM
Eurelectric Customer & Retail Services CommitteePositionNameAffiliation
CommitteeMemberJill MurrayBGE
CommitteeSubstituteGillian KinsellaBGE
WG New Services and CustomersMemberCormac MannionEnergia
WG Retail Market DesignMemberÁine DorranElectric Ireland
Eurelectric BoardPositionNameOrganisation
BoardMemberDara LynottEAI